Future2 Foundation announces new Chair and Deputy Chair

Future2 Foundation announces new Chair and Deputy Chair

The Future2 Foundation is pleased to announce the appointment of Ms Julie Berry CFP®GAICD as Chair and of Ms Olivia Maragna CFP® as Deputy Chair to lead the foundation of the Financial Planning Association of Australia (FPA) into the next chapter of its work helping disadvantaged young Australians.

Ms Petra Churcher is stepping down as Future2 Chair following many years’ service: she was previously Future2 Ambassador and was appointed to the Future2 Board in 2016 and served as Chair since 2018.

Future2 is the foundation of the financial planning profession in Australia. Through its annual Future2 Make the Difference! Grants program, Future2 supports young Australians experiencing social, financial or physical hardship.  Since 2007, Future2 has contributed over $1.1 million to benefit disadvantaged young people across Australia.

Ms Berry said:  ‘It’s an honour to take on the role of Chair for Future2, an organisation I am extremely passionate about.  I would like to acknowledge the outstanding service and dedication of outgoing Chair, Petra Churcher.  Petra has been part of every single grant provided by Future2 since 2016 and has contributed to the lasting difference that Future2 makes in our local communities”.

Ms Berry continued: “2020 has been an extraordinary year, commencing with the devastating impact of the bushfires and the development of the COVID-19 pandemic.  Our local communities and charity partners are experiencing unprecedented challenges and Future2 is committed to engaging financial planning professionals around Australia to support t initiatives that improve the lives of young Australians in need”.

Ms Berry has been a strong supporter of the work of Future2 having previously served as a Future2 Deputy Chair since 2019.  Julie Berry is a registered tax (financial) adviser and a Certified Financial Planner professional who has practised as a financial planner for more than 30 years. Julie is an Independent Director of Xplore Wealth Limited (ASX:XPL).  As Technical Specialist for Drs Financial Services AFSL # 487758 Julie works closely with Financial Planners.  Julie has previously served as both Chair and a board member of the FPA and Chair and board member of the Institute of Financial Advisers in NZ.  She is a life member of the FPA and recipient of the Money Management Lifetime Achievement Award.

Ms Maragna takes up her new appointment as Future2 Deputy Chair having served as Future2 Director since 2019.  She is Chief Executive of Aspire Retire, and has featured on the Barron’s 2020 Top 100 and 2019 Top 50 Financial Advisers honour roll. Ms Maragna is a well-recognised finance commentator and advocate for the financial planning profession.  She is a CFP and recipient of a number of industry and business accolades.

Commenting on the new appointments, FPA CEO Dante De Gori CFP® said:  “The work of Future2 touches the lives of young people facing really challenging times. We are thrilled to welcome Julie as Chair and Olivia as Deputy Chair of the Future2 Foundation.  I would also like to personally thank Petra for her remarkable leadership and growth of the Future2 Foundation,” he said.

Mr Peter Bobbin, FPA CEO Mr Dante De Gori CFP®, Mr Giles Gunesekera, Ms Alison Henderson CFP®, Mr Hugh Humphrey and Ms Pene Lovett continue to serve on the Future2 Board.